CivilConstruction.ca
Project brief
A survey stake tied with orange flagging tape in front of a total station on a tripod and a line of stakes

Guide · Sheet G-404

Construction holdback rules by province

Every payer on a lienable Canadian construction contract has to hold back part of what it owes, on purpose, until lien rights expire. The rate and the release timing are set by provincial lien legislation, not by the contract.

Sheet G-404Checked 2026-09-245 min read6 sources

10%Statutory holdback rate in Alberta, Ontario, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia1
7.5%Manitoba’s statutory holdback rate, lower than the 10% used elsewhere5
55 daysHow long after a certificate of completion British Columbia’s holdback period runs before it can be released3

A holdback is not a penalty and it is not optional. Provincial builders lien and construction lien legislation makes every payer on a job — owner to contractor, contractor to subcontractor — retain a fixed percentage of what is owed, specifically so unpaid subtrades and suppliers have a fund to claim against if something goes wrong further up the chain. The rate is close to universal at 10%. The release timing is not, and getting it wrong affects cash flow on both sides of the payment.

STA 0+120What a holdback is for

Every province's lien legislation works the same way in outline: each payer on a contract where a lien could arise must retain a percentage of the value of the work and materials actually supplied, and keep it retained until the lien rights of everyone below that payer have expired or been satisfied. It is not the payer's money to spend in the meantime, and it is separate from any deficiency holdback the contract itself might set for incomplete work. The holdback exists so a subcontractor or supplier who does not get paid still has a specific fund to register a lien against, rather than chasing a contractor who has already spent the job's cash.

The obligation runs down the whole contracting chain, not just from owner to prime contractor. An owner retains holdback from the contractor, the contractor retains the same percentage from each subcontractor, and a subcontractor retains it from its own sub-subcontractors and suppliers in turn. Every link in that chain is both a holder of someone else's holdback and subject to having its own payment held back one level up, which is why the release date matters just as much to a mid-tier subcontractor as it does to the general contractor.

STA 0+240Who actually holds the money

"Holdback" describes an obligation, not a separate bank account. In most provinces the payer is not required to segregate the holdback into a dedicated trust account; it simply cannot be paid out until the statutory conditions are met, and the payer remains liable for it regardless of what happens to its own cash flow in the meantime. That distinction matters on a project where the owner or a mid-tier contractor runs into financial trouble: the holdback obligation does not disappear, but collecting on it can turn into a lien claim and, in a worst case, a fight with other creditors rather than a straightforward payment.

This is also why the certificate of substantial performance or completion is worth tracking carefully. It is usually published (posted at the site, in a local trade paper, or through a public notice, depending on the province) specifically so subcontractors and suppliers know their lien deadline has started running, and by extension when they should expect their share of the holdback to become payable.

STA 0+360Holdback rate and release by province

Statutory holdback rate and release timing
ProvinceHoldback rateReleased
Alberta10% of the value of work and materials160 days from the certificate of substantial performance or completion; 90 days for oil and gas well site improvements and concrete-related contracts1
Ontario10% basic holdback, plus a separate 10% finishing-work holdback after substantial performance2Held until liens have expired or been satisfied; on multi-year contracts, a mandatory annual release of accrued holdback is now required2
British Columbia10% of the greater of the value of work/material provided or payments made355 days after a certificate of completion is issued, or after head-contract completion, abandonment or termination3
Saskatchewan10% of the greater of the value of services/materials provided or payments made4Not specified in the consolidation reviewed; confirm current release timing before relying on it
Manitoba7.5% of each payment5At least 60 days after a certificate of substantial performance, completion or abandonment5
Nova Scotia10% of the value of work, services and materials660 days after substantial performance, plus a separate 10% holdback on any work remaining after that point6
Federal (real property)Not specified in the facts reviewedFederal real property contracts are governed by payment-timeline rules rather than a confirmed statutory holdback rate; see prompt payment

Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador each have their own lien or holdback regime; this research did not extract a confirmed current rate and release timing for them, so they are left out of the table rather than guessed at.

STA 0+480Ontario’s mandatory annual holdback release

Ontario changed how holdback works on long contracts. Following each contract anniversary, the owner has to publish a notice of annual release no later than 14 days after the anniversary, and then pay the accrued holdback at least 60 but not later than 74 days after that notice, unless a lien has been preserved against it2. That is a meaningful shift from the older model, where holdback typically sat untouched until the very end of a multi-year project: on an eligible contract, a subcontractor working in year one can now expect its share of that year's holdback released well before the project finishes, not held hostage to the whole job's completion.

STA 0+600What triggers the release clock

The clock almost always starts at substantial performance or completion, not at the invoice date or the last day worked. Substantial performance has its own legal test in each province — Nova Scotia, which also uses the standard 10% holdback rate, treats a contract as substantially performed once the cost of the work remaining does not exceed 2.5% of the contract price6 — and getting that date right matters, because it is also usually the date that starts the clock on when a lien has to be registered. A contractor or subcontractor who is unsure when substantial performance was certified should ask for the certificate directly rather than estimating from the schedule.

STA 0+720What holdback means for cash flow

Holdback is money a contractor and its subtrades have genuinely earned but cannot collect on the normal progress-payment schedule. On a $1,000,000 subcontract at the standard 10% rate, that is $100,000 sitting with the payer until the release conditions are met — real money for financing equipment, payroll and material purchases in the meantime. This is a different problem from a late progress payment, which is what prompt payment and adjudication covers: prompt payment legislation sets the clock for paying invoiced amounts other than the holdback itself. A contractor bidding public work should plan financing around both — the invoice-payment clock and the separate holdback release date — rather than treating "payment" as one single event. See bidding on public tenders and bid, performance and payment bonds for the other financial-security pieces of a tendered contract.

Legal information, not legal advice

Holdback rates, release conditions and lien deadlines change with legislative amendments and are interpreted case by case. Confirm the current statute and get legal advice before relying on any date or percentage here for a live dispute.

Questions people ask

What percentage is a construction holdback in Canada?

10% in Alberta, Ontario, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia1. Manitoba is the exception at 7.5%5.

When is holdback released in Alberta?

The 10% holdback is released 60 days from the certificate of substantial performance or completion, extended to 90 days for oil and gas well site improvements and concrete-related contracts1.

What is Ontario’s annual holdback release?

On a long contract, Ontario now requires the owner to publish a notice of annual release within 14 days of each contract anniversary and pay the accrued holdback 60 to 74 days after that notice, unless a lien has been preserved2.

Is holdback the same as prompt payment?

No. Holdback is a percentage retained on every payment until lien rights expire. Prompt payment sets the deadline for paying the rest of a proper invoice on time. See prompt payment and adjudication.

How long does British Columbia hold the 10% back?

The holdback period expires 55 days after a certificate of completion is issued, or after the head contract is completed, abandoned or terminated3.

Does holdback apply to private residential jobs, or only public contracts?

The statutory holdback applies to any contract where a lien could arise under the provincial lien act, which generally covers private and public construction alike, not just government tenders. The 10% rate used in Alberta, Ontario, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia1 applies regardless of whether the owner is a homeowner, a developer or a government body, subject to each act’s own thresholds and exceptions.

Sources

  1. Prompt Payment and Construction Lien Act, RSA 2000, c P-26.4 (office consolidation current as of April 1, 2025)Alberta King's Printer · consolidation current as of 2025-04-01
  2. Construction Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.30 (official Word consolidation)Government of Ontario (e-Laws) · consolidation file saved 2026-01-05; current to 2026-09-21
  3. Builders Lien Act, SBC 1997, c 45King's Printer, Victoria (BC Laws) · Act current to 2026-09-15
  4. The Builders' Lien Act, SS 1984-85-86, c B-7.1 (consolidation incl. 2024, c 4)Government of Saskatchewan (Publications Saskatchewan) · consolidation incl. 2024, c 4 (unofficial consolidation)
  5. The Builders' Liens Act, C.C.S.M. c. B91Government of Manitoba (Manitoba Laws) · retrieved 2026-09-24
  6. Builders' Lien Act, R.S.N.S. 1989, c. 277 (Legislative Counsel electronic version, amended to 2014, c. 42)Office of the Legislative Counsel, Nova Scotia · consolidation amended to 2014 (unofficial electronic version)